Health Care System

I am scheduled for some minor surgery today. I continue to be impressed with the health care system here. During the lead up to the event I have had interviews with two surgeons and the anesthesiologist. The Clincia de Prado will do the work under my health insurance from work. They are very organized and have been helpful in all aspects. They provide a very good pre-surgery check list and it seems to cover all the bases. This is much better service than either my wife or I received in the States.

The major downside difference I see at this point is that one has to go to more than one institution during the process. First one goes the primary care group to get into the slipstream, then to the insurer for approval. Then a consultation with Surgeon 1. Then back to primary care for blood tests, etc. Next, a consultation with the clinics surgeon. Then back to the clinic to chat with the anesthesiologist. This could probably be made more efficient but as I said they cover the bases.

19/10/2009

The surgery went well.

3 Comments

  1. October 24, 2009 at 18:38

    I was considering adding doctors to my Best of Medellin report that I am working on, but I don´t have enough references to do it. Develop your list, I am sure it will be much appreciated.

  2. pbunch said,

    October 18, 2009 at 12:41

    Great to hear from you. The surgeon who did my operation speaks nearly perfect English. I am thinking about developing a list of docs with this skill. It could be very helpful to folks getting acquainted with the city and culture. Have you seen anything like this?

  3. October 18, 2009 at 10:55

    Great blog about Medellin. I have lived here for 3 months and had a consult from a wondeful doctor at Clinica Las Vegas. The thoroughness and professionalism of my visit was much better than any doctor´s visit I had while living in Panama.


Leave a Reply

