Planting Potatoes

11 April 2010

Well I got those spuds in the ground yesterday afternoon. Afterward we had a nice long gentle rain which was just the ticket. Most of what I planted was papa criolla and I did get around 6 pieces of capria ( a red  somewhat similar to red rose) planted.

I also weed-whacked a lot of kikuyu grass which is invading our place from a neighbors lawn. I need to keep it down until the next dry season when I can hit it with the glypsofato ( Roundup). This herbicide needs 6 hours on the weed before it rains. Not likely during the wet season here.  I don’t like to use chemicals unless necessary. Kikuyu makes it necessary!  This invasion has reduced the biodiversity in our meadow significantly. We almost lost the fireflies. They are a part of this finca I just don’t want to lose.

10 April 2010

Last week I prepared a plot for potatoes at the finca. I started working on this area a couple of years ago but due to my lack of experience with these soils I had little success. Last year I let it go fallow and the kikuyu grass moved in with a vengeance. Over the last month or so I have been killing and removing kikuyu. Last week I added a small amount of lime and a 15-15-15 fertilizer. These soils are very acidic. This fertilizer has a urea base and will need to be supplemented with nitrate when the plants start to grow. I´m going to try to get chicken manure but getting it to the finca is difficult as there is no road onto the place.

Last night I cut up the seed potatoes. They are drying well and will be ready tomorrow. I probably should have had them in the ground 2 or three weeks ago but that did not happen.

In addition to regular potatoes I am planting papa lisa or ulluco at the finca. This is one of the ancient crops of the Andes. It is popular in southern Colombia but is used very little in Antioquia. I planted a few about two months ago but they have grown little due to the dry weather. More will go in today.

5 Comments

  1. pbunch said,

    April 11, 2010 at 16:21

    Check out the classified ads in el Colombiano. That should give a good idea.
    http://tinyurl.com/yajuab6

  2. Morgan said,

    April 11, 2010 at 15:48

    I am curious how much it costs to rent a large house in Laureles…my girlfriend has 4 kids, my Spanish is limited and I have not been able to find out how much from anything on line

    Thanks again!

    Morgan

  3. pbunch said,

    April 11, 2010 at 14:40

    Our finca is up near Piedras Blancas. Not a big place but very nice as it borders on the Parque Arvi Reserve.

    Medellin is great place to live. If there are things you are interested in knowing about I would like to know. I want to provide material that is useful to people making the transition to living here. There are more than you might imagine.

  4. Morgan said,

    April 10, 2010 at 14:29

    Hello,

    I have just found your blog this morning,

    I have recently fallen in love with Medellin and plan to move to Laureles later this year.

    What are is your finca in? Sounds lovely, all the best from Vancouver, Canada

    Morgan

    • Morgan said,

      April 10, 2010 at 14:30

      I meant to say I thoroughly enjoyed reading your blog!!!


Leave a Reply

