Walking for Exercise and More

I have picked up my walking program again recently. While in Medellin I have been using the Metro Stations as landmarks and goals. Sometimes I jump the Metro and ride to a distant station, get off and walk back home. Other times, I walk to a station and back home. Today I walked from here in Prado Centro to the Exposiciones station and back.  This turns out to be about 5 miles given the route I took. On the return I eat at the El Palo vegetarian restaurant on El Palo just north of La Playa. This turned out to be a good move and I describe it in a comment to my previous post.

I find that walking greatly improves my knowledge of the city. It provides vital detail in the overall context of my mental map.

 

2 Comments

  1. pbunch said,

    October 25, 2011 at 14:52

    I put in another 7 today from Ayura to Prado Centro but this time via the Airport. +800 calories burned but as it was mostly flatlands I only got my pulse into the target range for a short time. I have to walk hills to get that kind of exercise.

  2. pbunch said,

    October 7, 2011 at 07:30

    Got in 7 miles yesterday from the Ayura Station to Prado Centro.


Leave a Reply

